Jinx

New Stories, Old Book. Whether they are blatantly obvious or super subtle, so many of our favorite fairytale, fables, novels, movies, television shows, and songs are really just that, a new story based off of the world’s oldest and most popular book.

Unknown

Angelite

Through the years, I have been inspired by so many titles that are too numerous to mention in just one post. That is why I am excited to have the opportunity to discuss my favorite stories with you each week, and more importantly, I can’t wait to hear your perspective. I was captivated by the divine elements in the City of Angels, moved by the story of It’s a Wonderful Life, thrilled by The Exorcist, and enlightened by The Red Tent. It is amazing how you can find theological elements in everything from Superman to The Lion King.

Archangel Michael

I was raised in a catholic family, yet have always been interested in many religions and faiths. I have welcomed the journey of discovering and growing in my own personal faith and spirituality while being open and understanding to others. It is fascinating to explore humankind’s need for discovery and interpretation of spirituality and to identify my own connection to angels, particularly Archangel Michael.

My novel Jinx was a natural story for me. In telling Jinx’s tale I wrote about those things that I hold dear to me; angels, natural energies, military,history, fashion, friendships, pets, and love. Jinx is a coming of age love story about a young girl who discovers the truth of who she really is, a member of the Guardians, semi mortal angels who walk among people and are meant to help society during unstable times. It is trendy, funny, action filled story that will have you looking for angels. Jinx is the first book in a proposed trilogy.

United States Air Force Academy Chapel

I have a new Work In Progress (WIP) that will also naturally fall into the biblical fanfic category. This new effort is exciting for me as it is the complete opposite of Jinx and a much darker tale. It has been thrilling to create.

Thank you for joining us on this journey, we are so excited to connect with each of you. Please feel free to contact me via the blog or by email at any time. I look forward to meeting you and engaging in many interesting discussions!

~JBD

Posted on December 1, 2012, in Introductions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. You know, this is slightly embarrassing, but I just saw It’s A Wonderful Life for the first time last Christmas. I don’t know what took me so long – I had just never caught it from the beginning on TV, I suppose. Anyway, I love this blog and am so excited to see what will be discussed in the coming weeks. 🙂 Your book sounds great! I can’t wait to read all the good stuff coming from you guys.

  2. This is awesome Jamie. I can’t wait to hear all the awesome things you guys have for us. And your book sounds awesome.

  3. Jinx sounds SO cool. When I was a teen, I don’t remember anything being Biblica FanFic for my age range… so I’m excited to see your success with it.

  4. Also: Love the Angelite picture. I keep a selenite pillar next to my bed, and I have a seraphinite stone and a phenacite stone (which is used to channel the energies of all beings of light, fairies, etc…).

  5. Jinx sounds wonderful, Jamie! A mix of angels, action, romance and fun, which is something I think our teens are craving these days. I bet they’re going to love it… and that we adults will love it, too.

    When I was a teen, I definitely wasn’t aware of any Biblical FanFic in my library, but as an adult, I realized I was missing something. My favorite series back then was The Quest of the Riddlemaster by Patricia A. McKillip, and at the time, I thought of it as a wonderful, romantic fantasy. When I read it again as an adult, however, I realized it’s a story of man’s search for God. Beautifully crafted and layered, you can read it on many levels… but that last time, wow.

    I’m loving the blog and looking forward to reading your books!

    ~Paula H.

  6. Thank you Paula, I agree that this is something that our teens are craving and I love it when stories have a broad appeal to both young adults and adult audiences.

  1. Pingback: New Year and High Hopes! « New Stories, Old Book.

Leave a comment