#SupernaturalSunday

Hey guys! Sorry for the lack of posts. I’ve been working and writing a lot and not had the chance to rewatch the older episodes. I’m going to take a break from that and post something for discussion. I’d like this to be more interactive, with someone responding and discussing the greatness of our favorite show rather than me just talking at y’all. 😉

My idea for new posts is to discuss some of the more current issues. First off, what’s up with the craziness that is Sam and Dean’s relationship? I’ve had a few debates with friends about this and am curious what a wider range of viewers think. It’s especially been a source of strong feelings over the past few episodes of season nine. The growing rift between them is really starting to bother me, as a viewer since the pilot episode. How do you guys feel about it? I mean, what happened to this?

Supernatural-Season-9-premiere-Sam-and-Dean

As a Dean girl, I’m always going to be more on Dean’s side. I completely understand why he did what he did. SPOILER: By that, I mean, letting the angel possess Sam in order to keep him alive. I know it was wrong and I understand Sam being upset about it. But to me, his reaction seems a bit too much. It especially broke my heart when he told Dean he wouldn’t have saved him, if their situations had been reversed. I didn’t like that conversation/argument at all. Sadly, it is true that Sam wouldn’t save Dean. When Sam dies/goes to hell/disappears, Dean would do anything to find him/bring him back home. When Dean dies/goes to hell, Sam looks for a few weeks, then is like “Oh well, guess I’ll go find a demon/new girlfriend.” Remember Amelia?

Amelia-Sam-Riot

Yeah, I’d rather forget too. And of  course, Ruby…

Rubyseducing_sam

At least they had palpable chemistry. Since Jared Padalecki ended up marrying the actress and all. 😉 Don’t jump all over me, Sam girls. I remember from season one how Sam just wanted a normal law school life. I know in the end, Sam chose Dean. I guess I just wish it had stayed that way.

together again

After all these years and seasons, why do these two not realize yet things go better when they’re together? Things were further complicated in the Thin Man episode this week. The return of GhostFacers! Yes, I was excited and really enjoyed the episode. Much more than I had enjoyed some more recent ones, like The Purge (the one with the argument) and Sharp Teeth. (Perhaps a future blog should discuss Garth?)

a lot of feelings

Anyway, Thin Man. SPOILER: The GhostFacer dudes ended up having a similar problem to Sam and Dean and broke up. 😦 Again, I’m more on the side of the one who lied. Maybe this is because I’m so loyal to those I love, I probably would’ve done the same thing. I do not condone lying but when you love your brother/best friend that much, I can see why they did what they did.

#THINMAN

I think the rift between Ed and Harry served to better explain to the Winchesters how the other felt. I hope they will both see how the other feels and get back together. Just as I hope Ed and Harry get back together. What did you guys think of the Ed and Harry similarities? Are some of you just tired of the whole thing? Can we just hug it out and be brothers and kill monsters again?

Anyway, in a nutshell, this is how this season makes me feel:

Agree? Disagree? Let’s discuss! 🙂

About Amy Cavenaugh

Writer. Single Mom. Library Assistant. Coffee Lover. NKOTB and Joe Mac supporter. Walking Dead fanatic, and oh, yeah, author of A SCARRED MIND, my first adult thriller. :)

Posted on March 9, 2014, in Supernatural Sundays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

