All Writers Go to Hell – Let’s Have a Party

DISCLAIMER: This blog post was written in good fun. It does not reflect the views of anyone associated with this blog in anyway. In addition, it may contain some adult content and/or biblical mockery that may offend some people. If you are one of those people, read on at your own risk or don’t read on at all. Your choice. We all have choices and I choose to not take everything so seriously just as you, the reader, may choose to skip my Thursday blog posts. I am neither a heathen nor an atheist. As a matter of fact, I was raised in the Catholic Church and attended Catholic School for a number of years. Again, this is all in good fun – and laughing makes us all live a little longer. So if you’re ready to turn that frown upside down, read on.

images-2-1

Before I begin this post, I’d like to name the winner of the TORN ebook – JMBRAY!!! Please comment here with your email address and I will gift you a Kindle copy, or a pdf , if you prefer.

Now – for the Bizarro!

I’ve been thinking a lot lately of hypocrites and characters with what can only be described as a personality disorder. Patrick Bateman from Brett Easton Ellis’ American Psycho comes to mind. Not as a hypocrite necessarily but as a memorable character with a severe case of “Who the f@ck am I?”

tumblr_mc8ra6jpzo1qgcra2o1_500

His character got me thinking about hypocrisy and personality disorders in the Bible. Now, bear with me here. I find the need to remind you to look at the disclaimer above. Go ahead. I’ll wait……

countdown4

Ok. You re-read it? Good. I think God may be the the strangest character ever written in terms of hypocrisy. I think, though, this has to do with one of the first documented cases of personality disorder, mood disorder – a real Sybil if you ask me.

Unknown

The reason I say this is because of the following photo I found while researching for my Bizarro blog posts…

images-5

This highlights the worst case of “Do as I say, not as I do” that I have ever seen.

images-3

Is there a reason for it? What’s with the double standard? Is he above reproach when it comes to the Seven Deadlies? If so, why? If not, has anyone called him out on it? I mean, besides Atheists and such?

images-1

These principles can be applied to our lives as writers – often a very hypocritical bunch with more personalities swimming in their heads than should be allowed. Read The 7 Deadly Sins of writing below. How many infractions are you guilty of? As a reader, do any of these come through in an author’s writing?

7-deadly-sins-of-writing-sin17-deadly-sins-of-writing-sin27-deadly-sins-of-writing-sin327-deadly-sins-of-writing-sin4images-17-deadly-sins-of-writing-sin6Unknown-1

Does this mean we’re all going to hell? Let’s face it, as a writer, sometime in our lives we’ll probably commit at least one of these sins. I say, we’re all human – may as well make it a party.

images-1

(For you Amy Cavenaugh…)

~Christine

This-is-a-Work-of-Fiction-1

About Christine Hughes

A few things about me in no particular order: 1. I love the NY Jets (I know, I know...) 2. I love where I live. An hour to NY, Philly and the Jersey shore. 3. I have two boys and they make me laugh hard enough to blow liquids out of my nose. The hubs is funny enough to make me pee my pants. Not that it's ever happened. Of course not. 4. Being a writer is the best job on the planet, and not just because I can wear jammies to work, drink coffee by the gallonful, randomly catch up on my DVR'd shows, troll YouTube, flip on E! News and browse iTunes - all in the name of research. 5. I have some of the best friends in the world - they put up with my inappropriate jokes, foul mouth, strange musings and don't judge me if I drink too much wine on a Tuesday. Just sayin' - a girl needs her friends. 6. Represented by the most fabulous Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I fell into it with her - she is perfectly amazeballs. LOVE!

Posted on August 22, 2013, in Bizarro Bible Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I have a theory about how wrathful God is in the Hebrew Testament. He was single, no kids; God blew up cities for fun and otherwise was a rambunctious youth. Why do you think he so loved David. Come the New Testament and he’s settled down with a kid. He’s got a family; he can’t go out smiting cities and countries anymore.

  2. I must admit I’ve committed every one of those sins except #2 and #6. I hope I’ll never fall prey to those two.

    Also, as an atheist, I quite enjoyed this post. 🙂

  3. Yep…I wallowed in #3 for a while, but, I repented. 🙂

    And YaY I won! Thanks! I would love a Kindle version of Torn. jmbray@jmbray.com Thanks!

Leave a Reply

