TRUE BLOOD Season 6 Does Biblical FanFic

Beware of vampy pics in this post! They’re not all PG, but nothing X rated I promise. 🙂

 

true-blood-season-6-episode-7-evening  

I’m always amazed by the level religion is integrated into fiction. I had the honor of serving on a panel at the 2013 When Words Collide conference last week about religion in fiction – it was a pretty cool experience with some awesome authors. Today I want to talk about True Blood, and not just because Joe Manganiello is sexy as hell. I want to show how True Blood, being a show that twists old myths into new versions for both entertainment and allegory, also tapped into fans who have been exposed to Biblical FanFiction through other TV shows and through religious/historical learning.

Although…

article_photo

I’m just saying. Anyway. This season on True Blood, we were introduced to Lilith

OB-UF483_lilith_E_20120817192858.

Yep, THE Lilith, who takes a position in all kinds of fiction that touches upon old stories mixed with the new. Lilith challenged Bill to drink her blood and become her chosen one, but she didn’t tell him that she picked two other vampires for the job, too, and they had to kinda fight it out for the position.

moyer-finale-true-blood

Bill won, and was granted telekinetic powers (along with other things) that enabled him to command the half-vampire-half-faerie Warlow to the point where he was able to drink the half-faerie blood and walk in the sunlight.

true-blood-warlow-ben-season-6

That’s Mr. Easy On The Eyes Warlow.

Bill passed this ability on to the other vampires as he freed them from vamp camp, an experimental concentration camp where the humans were torturing the vampires to learn more about them and quiet the threat.

imagesCAZYPO6Z

This whole operation was led by a woman who used “Jesus is speaking to me” as her excuse for everything, which is a fantastic allegory about how far human beings are willing to go “in the name of” religion when there’s a high level of fear or the unknown involved – kind of a major point at the panel I was on at When Words Collide 2013.

True-Blood-season-6-episode-81

Using the abilities Bill wielded as Lilith’s reincarnation, the vampires escaped.

True-Blood-Season-6-Billith

And the only long-term effect is that now there’s a bunch of rabid Hep-V infected vampires running loose, trying to kill everyone. No big deal.

true-blood-season-6-finale-sick-vampires-are-on-the-march

I find it awesome that Lilith is such a conduit for connecting fans of different genres and for adding a religious depth to shows that push these envelopes. She’s kind of the religious scapegoat – because she’s Lilith, who refused to lie beneath Adam, it doesn’t really anger anyone that she’s used in a negative light, while still pulling in a strong, godly connection. Totally cool.

I haven’t written about Lilith, myself, but one version of her story speaks of her as the original succubus – and I do write about a succubus. More on that in November. 😉

Anyone else catch the season finale of True Blood? Did you enjoy it as much as I did? It was an unorthodox season, for sure, but again….

 

😉

About Nola.Sarina

I am an author of dark fantasy, horror and paranormal romance books. My dark fantasy series, The Vesper Series, is a twist on Original Sin. The series is represented by Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I find my favorite books with new takes on all things supernatural, paranormal and biblical, including vampires, angels and demons, and am an advocate for the New Adult market category for fiction.

Posted on August 20, 2013, in Television and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t watch True Blood but I do like your post. Are your Joe’s abs painted on? Because lord have mercy…

  2. I haven’t watched any of Season 6 – more of a book fan, myself – but you’re post makes me want to. Hmm…

  3. I’m not an Alcide fan but his abs look nice

Leave a Reply

