Oz: The Great and Powerful

Lately, Biblical FanFiction has just been jumping out at me left, right, and center. This weekend, I watched Oz: The Great and Powerful, and was surprised not only by the color and charisma of the movie, but by a fun Biblical Fan Fiction reference that inspired this blog post.

 

Oz-The-Great-and-Powerful

It was a wonderful story. Bonus number one: James Franco. Need I say more? The guy is gorgeous. Bonus number two: Zach Braff.

Oz: The Great And Powerful - UK Premiere - Red Carpet Arrivals

Don’t call me creepy, I love the guy. His sense of humor is excellent. Bonus number three: enough witches to make even Charmed go whoa, slow down a second.

oz-the-great-and-powerful-poster-1

Bonus number four: Beautiful magical scenery.

1

Bonus number five: Beautiful magic. This movie (though a lower age-category rating) had the visual appeal that was missing from Beautiful Creatures.

oz-the-great-and-powerful-movie-photo-19

 

Bonus number six: Beautiful magical creatures.

oz-great-powerful2-650x325

Bonus number seven: Badassery.

oz_the_great_and_powerful_trailer_rachel_weiszBonus number eight: James Franco.

oz_great_and_powerful_7

Oh, wait, I already mentioned him. We’ll go with Mila Kunis for number seven. Speaking of Mila Kunis, number nine:

Oz-Wicked-WitchMila Kunis the PSYCHO (also known as the bad witch).

While we’re on the topic of the bad witch, though, there was this awesome scene that piqued my interest for a Biblical FanFiction post:

untitled

In an effort to overthrow her good sister, the middlish-evilness witch offers her heartbroken sister Theodora an apple. One bite, and she turns evil for good. Holy crap, does it work well! But I liked the symbolism of it – the offering of a forbidden fruit that ruins her beauty, her innocence, for all time. It was an awesome Biblical reference and told the story of the bad witch from a perspective I never considered: that she was heartbroken and tempted, rather than wicked. I loved the story, and that one moment – the offering of a forbidden apple – sealed it as a five-star movie for me. Not to mention points 1-9 above, of course. 😉

 

I recommend you see it if you haven’t already. I was left wondering if Oz would return to Kansas or what, but the scenery was so delightful I enjoyed every minute of it. And it’s kid-friendly, though your kids will probably jump pretty hard when the flying baboons start popping up front and center of the screen.

Have you seen it? I’ve heard some people were disappointed or confused by the movie. What did you think?

About Nola.Sarina

I am an author of dark fantasy, horror and paranormal romance books. My dark fantasy series, The Vesper Series, is a twist on Original Sin. The series is represented by Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I find my favorite books with new takes on all things supernatural, paranormal and biblical, including vampires, angels and demons, and am an advocate for the New Adult market category for fiction.

Posted on July 9, 2013, in Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jackie Robinson

    I bought it before ever seeing it and I liked it 🙂 Matt on the other hand didn’t like the ugly Mila Kunis.

Leave a Reply

