LOTR – More Than Symbols of Power

MV5BNTEyMjAwMDU1OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDQyNTkxMw@@__V1_SY317_CR1,0,214,317_

Before I start this off, let me thank Amy Cavenaugh for the idea for this post! She mentioned Lord of The Rings in a comment on my last post about Samson’s hair and symbols of power. The One Ring is a FANTASTIC example of a symbol of power, especially one that both binds people together and tears them apart.

imagesCA9I66MW

Lord of the Rings has been debated as an allegory for so many different things that I tend to just watch it for the entertainment value, and not bother trying to look for the subtleties discussed by critics and fans alike. But Amy’s comment about the One Ring being a symbol of power got me thinking of the Biblical connections in LoTR, which end up being more representations of every spirituality and walk of life. But that’s one of the beautiful things about the series: every person can find at least one thing with which to identify in the series through the variety of characters and belief systems.

You have the brotherhood between Frodo and Sam…

lord-of-the-rings-lord-of-the-rings-2253691-1280-1024

Sam stuck by Frodo during his darkest hours, when his life was surely condemned and even when he shunned Sam in favor of solitude, and the company of Gollum, whom he perceived to have a deeper understanding of his trouble.

And GOLLUM! Gotta love Gollum!

LOTR-lord-of-the-rings-492171_1024_768

He’s representative of both a villain and a fallen: he was once an innocent, even a good man, and fell to become the creature obsessed with the Ring, and willing to throw anyone to his death to get his grubby hands on it, even himself. But he seemed to be a sinner of circumstance, and not truly evil, just corrupted by greet, envy, and lust.

To protect the ring and get that unearthly power to its place of destruction, the Fellowship was formed by all species in Middle Earth.

LOTR-The-Fellowship-of-the-Ring-aragorn-11449246-1280-720

This reminds me of the Apostles and their aid of Jesus Christ, even when it became clear the end of their fellowship would be in tragedy.

There’s a horny beast!

Balrog

And the Elves, and their travel out of Middle Earth is somewhat an exodus, somewhat an ascension.

elves lord of the rings

And as if to show the opposite between the light Elves and the dark world Sauron has inspired with the Orcs, the Eye of Sauron (and pretty much everything about Mt. Doom) sure looks a lot like Hell.

untitled

imagesCA93L53L

572p5_2_0096

569_6_0196

Regardless of the political allegories debated about Lord of The Rings, I think it’s a wonderful example of the whole point of Biblical FanFic: there’s something in it for everyone, a character with whom each of us can identify as we watch them struggle, triumph and fall. We’re reminded of our roots, of the beliefs that structured us since childhood no matter what specific background we come from or what faith we practice now. Flawed men and women, those seeking absolution and power, those who fall and those who rise – these are all Biblical FanFic themes we can connect with on many levels.

Which character from LoTR do you connect with most? Which is your opposite?

About Nola.Sarina

I am an author of dark fantasy, horror and paranormal romance books. My dark fantasy series, The Vesper Series, is a twist on Original Sin. The series is represented by Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I find my favorite books with new takes on all things supernatural, paranormal and biblical, including vampires, angels and demons, and am an advocate for the New Adult market category for fiction.

Posted on May 7, 2013, in Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. OMGEEEEE! I literally gasped when I saw today’s topic! Thanks so much, Nola! ❤ LOTR really does deserve its own blog post (or several). I have never been a fan of fantasy books or films, until the LOTR films. I didn't buy into it at first. It was one day at the video store after Fellowship of the Ring came out on video when my BFF and I decided to rent it and see what the big deal was. Then we immediately looked up online when the second film came out. Good timing since we only had to wait a few months rather than a year and that gave us time to read the books. 😉

    I think my favorite underlying theme is the friendships and loyalty that defy all the evil. There are plenty of moments when those bonds are tested but the friendships and good always prevail in the end. I could point out so many examples. One of my favorites is "Frodo wouldn't have gotten very far without Sam." The character I connect to most is probably Sam although my favorite characters are Merry and Pippin. I love hobbitses! 🙂 They're adorable and live for food and drink and just enjoying life. Even if they're ignorant to the problems of bigger folk, they care and it's the hobbits in the fellowship who end up being the bravest. In Return of the King at the final battle when Merry and Pippin are with the armies of Gondor and Rohan and they're severely outnumbered by orcs, they are the first to charge forward. I LOVE that. "Even the smallest person can change the course of the future."

    I could go on and on all day about LOTR but I'll try to leave it at that and hopefully other people comment and join the discussion. 🙂

  2. I am a huge Lord of the Rings dork. I identify most with the hobbits… I love that what they care most about is home, friends and family… and beer and good times. 🙂 And then these brave hobbits, Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin, leave everything they’ve ever known to go on this quest to save Middle Earth from evil, people outside the Shire who they’ve never met. Merry and Pippin are my favorites because I always love the funny guys, what can I say? I think I’m probably most opposite of elves because they’re so beautiful and graceful and wise… and I’m more hobbity. But I love how LOTR touches on so many issues… good vs. evil, racism and prejudice, fighting for what’s right, I could go on and on. Like I said, huge LOTR dork and fangirl! 😉

  3. Hands down… Boromir. The anti-hero, so tragically flawed by his desires, trying to do what is right, but relying on his own strength and paying the cost. I love his personal struggle and his final scene in the book.

    He fights with valiantly against the orcs, and blows his horn hoping the others will come to his rescue…but it does no good. Aragorn finds him “sitting with his back to a great tree, as if he was resting. But Aragorn saw that he was pierced with many black-feathered arrows; his sword was still in his hand, but it was broken near the hilt; his horn cloven in two was at his side. Many Orcs lay slain, piled all about him and at his feet.”

    In his last words he admits his weakness mistakes.“Farewell, Aragorn! Go to Minas Tirith and save my people! I have failed.”

    What a character…what a moment!

  4. I connected since I was a little kid with Sméagol, the remains of the former personality of Gollum…I always felt enthralled in love for what was left of his goodness and innocence…and wished desperately for his redemption…I always thought it unfair that it was denied to him. I know in a great spectre things got according to a plan…and in the bigger picture things came out well…but I still mourn this character…and I always held in my heart the hopes that God would have seen what was left of his true self, and forgive him. I always saw what happened to him as a sort of demonic possession, the essence of the ring corrupting and preying in the soul and mind of an innocent…
    ¿What do you think?

  5. Like Satan in Milton’s Paradise Lost, Gollum is the character that stands out for me in LotR. Lavinia in the comment above described it so well! But the character I love the most is Aragorn.

Leave a Reply

