Staying Strong

We are shocked. We struggle for answers. We are sad. We are angry. We feel helpless.

We try our best to continue. We look at things differently.

We come together. We slowly heal.

We will never forget.

My brother is a marathoner. Boston has been a part of our lives for many years. He was pacing this year so I skipped the obsessive time checking every few minutes on my computer. My phone buzzed and I figured it was him or my mom sharing the race results. I stared at the screen. Bombing at marathon, I’m okay. I read the message several times before I comprehended what it meant. I turned on the news and watched in disbelief. I  texted him back. Are you okay? And this time I meant emotionally. How could we ever prepare ourselves to witness and experience something so horrific?64411_4064433989445_1556295672_n

This is an event that symbolizes fulfilling a dream, achieving your goals, celebrating life, forgetting the past, overcoming obstacles and so many things for so many people. My brother said he will return next year in spite of the horrific things he witnessed because of everything this race stands for.  Stay strong Boston! My heart goes out to everyone who has been affected by this evil act.

Though this video is an example of Americans coming together, I think it is important to acknowledge the outpouring of love and support from other nations. This evil reaches far beyond our borders…

Posted on April 19, 2013, in Current Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I remembered your brother ran marathons & wondered if he was there. I’m so glad he’s okay. I had kind of a personal connection there, too. The drama playing out in real time right now is unbelievable. This is all so mind-blowing. I hope they never stop running the marathon and I actually hope to run it myself someday. God bless you & yours & God bless Boston.

  2. I plan on going to the marathon next year to see my brother run. 🙂 I wish I had time to train for it. I ran Vegas and the hours that I spent running were crazy! I don’t know how my brother does it. I mentioned he was “pacing” this one because he is running Pittsburgh in a few weeks. I love running but not that much! 🙂

    Michelle and I were talking as things were unfolding on the news and we said if someone pitched us this story we would say..umm..that’s too unbelievable.

    One thing that was very clear…don’t mess with Boston!

Leave a Reply

