Paying it Forward

payitforward

Nah, I’m not doing a movie review this week… rather, I want to talk about the practice of paying it forward, and the importance of doing so in everyday life. Doing good deeds is far more deeply rooted in importance in our society than even the Biblical stories we discuss on here all the time. It’s about being a good person, doing good things for others, and in return, relishing in the enjoyment of others as the whole world becomes a better place.

 

payitforward1

In the movie (based off a book) Pay It Forward, Trevor begins a school project. He does a good deed for three people, asking them to do it for three others. The result is a chain reaction of awesomeness, of helping hands and loving hearts, and though the movie doesn’t have a happy ending, Trevor’s hard work pays off in the quality of the world and lives around him.

Today, at the grocery store, the tills were only taking cash. But they didn’t post that the debit/credit was down on the door… only on the registers. So I got all my shopping done before I realized I couldn’t pay because I was carrying only plastic payment forms, and had to abandon all my groceries and head to another store.

But on my way out the door, a woman flagged me down and said, “Ms? Ms! I can pay for yours, too. I have extra.”

I looked at her like she was on glue… and then shook my head and said, “No, of course not! But thank you so much, really… wow.”

And she said to me, “Please… it’s no trouble. Let me pay for your groceries. I remember having kids.” (My three heathens were holding hands spinning in circles by the checkout lanes prior to my realization that I couldn’t pay.)

I said, “Honestly, I’ll just go to the other store. Thank you for being so generous… wow.” I just kept saying wow. Because wow.

And she tried one more time to persist, so I said to her, “Listen, you’re a saint for this. Thank you so much for the offer… but we have the money, just not in cash. Save your money for someone who needs it.”

And she smiled at me, wished me well, and we parted ways.

pay_it_forward

But it got me thinking. Now would be a good time (for no other reason than that this lady showed me such random kindness) to start a chain reaction of good deeds. So tomorrow, I’m going to look for a moment to perform a random act of kindness that’s needed, and hope others will pass it on to those in need. Because the size of that woman’s heart astounded me, and her generosity was beyond anything I expected out of any stranger.

Who wants to do it with me: Pay It Forward?

About Nola.Sarina

I am an author of dark fantasy, horror and paranormal romance books. My dark fantasy series, The Vesper Series, is a twist on Original Sin. The series is represented by Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I find my favorite books with new takes on all things supernatural, paranormal and biblical, including vampires, angels and demons, and am an advocate for the New Adult market category for fiction.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Spike Cordiner

    Nice post! Paying-it-forward is sometimes hard to do, but well worth the effort ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow! That’s a sweet story. I just transferred at work to a new position, so it’s really all I think about as I attempt to quickly get myself up to speed. On top of that “Acting Manager” job that works me 11 hours or more, I’m trying to do the whole Indie writer thing. As you can see, all of that really gets me focusing on only me. It sounds like this would be a good opportunity to start thinking of others, doesn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing this…

    -Jimmy

  3. Pay It Forward is one of my all time favorite movies, and I still cry my eyes out every time I see it.
    Count me in.

  4. I bawl, too. It’s so sad.
    But the lesson inside it is one I SO cherish. Do good… Not so good will come back to me, but so that good will continue to come to others. It’s like just saying thank you for life, not for all the things we obtain in life.

  5. Nola,

    What a wonderful post. Though I’m currently trying to get my writing career off the ground, in my day job I work in a “Pay it forward” non-profit setting. The odd and (admittedly sad) thing is this: When its your job, sometimes you become jaded and forget to do it simply because it should be done.

    Thank you for the reminder and encouragement.

  6. I pay it forward whenever I get the chance…sometimes its buying the next person a coffee or smiling and holding a door for someone. I may not be the nicest person on the planet but I definitely try to make someone’s day EVERYDAY!!

    • The pay-it-forward-Tim-Hortons-coffee-train has to be one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen/participated in. Such a small thing can leave you with a smile on your face all day, both for receiving and giving a good deed. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Great post. That was really nice of the woman. Generosity from the heart is the best there is. It’s good to remember to be kind and pay it forward everyday. Sometimes it makes you day a little better.

  1. Pingback: Pay It Forward Pt. 2: Making Helpers | New Stories, Old Book.

Leave a Reply

