Why Easter Is My Favorite!

It’s not what you think.

easter-bunny

Although, those bunnies ARE adorable.

It’s not the adorableness.

And it’s not the chocolate.

Easter-Eggs-1

Although, I do love chocolate. Even adorable bunny-poop chocolate.

It’s not the chicks, either.

happy-easter

Although, fuzzy-butt chickies hatching out of eggs is squeedorable, too.

No, all the cuteness is not my favorite reason for Easter. My reason for loving Easter is far more…. seventies than that. Easter rocks because during the season, on so many channels, you flip on the TV, and what do you see?

MV5BMTk2NTc4NDc4OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjU4OTUyMQ@@__V1_SY317_CR4,0,214,317_

Sing it with me!!!! JEEEESSSUSSS CHRIIIIISSST, SUUUUPERSTAAAAR, DOOOO YOU THINK YOOOUUU’RRE WHAT THEY SAAAAY YOU ARRRRREE?!?!

I love this movie! I’ve never had the pleasure of seeing it on stage. I love Ted Neeley as Jesus Christ, and his beautiful portrayal of Jesus as a man, and his relationship with Mary Magdalene (Yvonne Elliman).

Jesus Christ Superstar 2

I love the actor for Judas (Carl Anderson) and his raw, powerful moments of conflict. I love that we get to know Judas as a person.

screen-capture-4

I love the DANCING! The musical numbers are UNMATCHED!

Simon Zealotes Jesus Christ Superstar (7)

Look at those boys tour-jete! In such tight pants, no less! A+ boys, seriously.

I love the colors, the fashions, the allegory of modern materialism and King Herod’s awesome, ridiculous number.

jesus-christ-superstar

This movie is an absolutely perfect example of Biblical FanFiction (although the majority of the “plot” in JCSS is considered fact by Christian standards). What I love so much about it is what a piece of art the film is, and how music and fashion and emotion all blended together. It’s such a masterpiece that you didn’t already know the story of Jesus and his disciples and death, you would think wow, what an amazing story, and how brilliantly told.

That’s the most important part about Biblical FanFiction, for me… artists take an inspirational collection of stories and mingle them together with their own, unique vision to tell a new story in a new way. JCSS showed me, while growing up in a Catholic household, that the Bible does tell a story with characters, relationships, conflicts, and resolution, no matter what you want to take for fact or fiction. And when we get creative with how we tell a story, no matter what the inspiration, that’s when a familiar story really comes to life.

These are two of my favorite scenes from JCSS. The first shows Jesus’ solitude and the overwhelm of being the celebrity (in modern terms) that he was. This shows how much more was asked of Jesus than any sole man could provide, and that’s why I find the relationship between he and Mary Magdalene to be portrayed with such tasteful comfort in the second video, here. It’s a good reminder of the stress he carried, the man he was, the human needs he had, and what a wonderful soother Mary Magdalene was of his burdens.


About Nola.Sarina

I am an author of dark fantasy, horror and paranormal romance books. My dark fantasy series, The Vesper Series, is a twist on Original Sin. The series is represented by Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I find my favorite books with new takes on all things supernatural, paranormal and biblical, including vampires, angels and demons, and am an advocate for the New Adult market category for fiction.

Posted on March 26, 2013, in Holiday, Movies, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

