Episode Review: Season One Episode One

Season 1

I decided to go back and watch the seasons through while I do my daily workout, and since I am doing that, why not review each episode?

The first episode of the first season is so well done for so many reasons. The dialog between the brothers really sets the stage for their whole relationship, and masterfully gives us back story without making the big back story exposition.

The episode starts off by setting Sam up as the smart college boy, about to take a test to gain a full ride to the Law School of his choice. His girlfriend (who we shortly find looks an awful lot like his mother), is the perfect girlfriend, and he tells us so:

Sam: What would I do without you?

Jessica: Crash and burn.

Sam and Jess

Poor Jessica had the misfortune of being the first girl one of the boys cared about on the show, therefore, her comment was a bit of ironic foreshadowing you can’t appreciate fully until you go back and watch it again.

We learn their dad is a hunter, and is missing. We get a taste of Dean’s player attitude.

Dean(to Jessica): You are way out of my brother’s league.

We learn how their childhood was:

Sam: When I told Dad I was scared of the thing in my closet, he gave me a .45

Dean: And?

Sam: I was NINE!

We learn how their relationship is going to be:cakehole

Sam: Dude, you gotta update your cassette tape collection.
Dean: Why?
Sam: Well, for one, they’re cassette tapes. And two, Black Sabbath, Motรถrhead, Metallica?! It’s the greatest hits of mullet rock.
Dean: House rules, Sammy. Driver picks the music; shotgun shuts his cake hole.
Sam: You know, Sammy is a chubby twelve-year-old. It’s Sam, okay?

Dean: Sorry, can’t hear you. The music’s too loud.

The story begins and sets the stage for the series – a case turns up, based on a local urban myth. The woman in white.

woman in white

A ghost this time, rumored to be abducting men from a certain stretch of black top in Jericho, CA (a fictional town – interesting Biblical name though, right?).

We get to see the flashback of what happened with their mom…

mom in flames

We learn lots of tidbits that we will use in future episodes: salt repels ghosts, flickering lights are bad news, flickering lights followed by being able to see your breath is even worse news, ghosts can possess cars (move over Christine), and the writers of Supernatural use all sorts of pop culture references throughout the episode.

Car chase Sam and Dean

The boys don’t disappoint us – they bring the ghost back into her house and the spirit is picked up (attacked? absorbed?) by the spirits of her children whom she had killed before taking her own life way back when.

When they return to their lives, Sammy goes to bed and wakes to find his girlfriend doing the crispy critter mambo on his ceiling – a repeat of the mother’s death.

Jessica

With nothing left to lose, but everything left to avenge, Sam agrees to go with Dean in an effort to find their father and track down whatever is responsible for the death of his beloved Jess.

It’s perfect really.

What was your favorite part of this episode?

About Michelle L. Johnson

Agent with Inklings Literary Agency, Author, and occasional wannabe comedienne. Firm believer in all things caffeinated. Represented by Jamie Bodnar Drowley.

Posted on March 24, 2013, in Supernatural Sundays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. OMG how much do I love this blog post?? โค ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that you went w/ the episodic reviews. So exciting! Especially for those who have been thinking about checking out the show, now they can see what each episode was about & if they'd be interested or maybe follow along each week & watch for themselves. ๐Ÿ™‚ LOVE that Season 1 graphic btw.

    I think my favorite part of the episode was: Dean: House rules, Sammy. Driver picks the music; shotgun shuts his cake hole.:)

    Way back in 2005, I remember seeing the promos for this new show, Supernatural, and I felt like it was written for me, or that I could've written it. I was SO. EXCITED. I was really into Lost at the time & wondered if this show could possibly be as good. HA! Remember how in the promos they showed the blood drip on Sam's forehead and then he'd look up at the ceiling and you'd see his horrified reaction? I couldn't wait to find out why he had that reaction! And what a payoff. Wow. And that's one of the reasons I was hooked with Episode One. So glad I decided to check out the show. (How hot Sam and Dean were definitely helped!:D)

  2. On your and Amy’s recommendation we jumped on board and started watching it. I have to say…great show! Only one cliche bit stood out, but it worked, as many do. Jessica made the big mistake of not wearing enough clothing…not that my wife or I had an issue with it…but it slotted her for the oldest of all horror moments.:

    “Sexy women must die.”

    If it were a Star Trek episode, she would have been in a red shirt. As I said though, some things stick around because they work, and it did here.

    We also noticed that Dean really looks like my nephew.

    Great dialogue, tight story, compelling plot. Some foreshadowing, but it wasn’t heavy handed. My personal fav dialogue moment:

    “…No chick flic moments.”

    “Yeah right. Jerk.”

    “Bitch.”

    We’re hooked.

  3. Love this review. I was totally hooked after first episode. And a bit creeped out watching it in the dark. LOL. Loved all the quotes. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Oh the dark! I have to watch it in the dark or I can’t see the screen. Gloomy, gloomy show!
      I’m reviewing the second episode this weekend, so please come back and check it out! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

