Hey There! It’s Valentines Day!

images-1

Whether you’ve been struck by that little bastard’s arrow or are currently painting a bulls-eye over your heart, I think we can all agree that February 14th is a day for love. The best kind of love – manufactured love! You know, candy hearts that ask the consumer to “Be Mine” and shit….. Cause that’s romantic. Hey, let’s purchase a card that declares how much more I love you than yesterday or tomorrow – cause, you know, it’s the one day I get to tell you. And by the way, it’s that time of the month so…Bitch! Better buy me some chocolate….

Funny that the “most romantic” day of the year  is named for a Catholic saint who defied the rules of Rome at the time and was put to death – publicly – for doing so. Sure, he was performing marriages against the wishes of the Roman Emperor at the time so I guess that’s kind of romantic, in a sick and twisted I-know-if-I-get-caught-I-will-be-put-to-death kind of way.

I’d love to see some fabulous Biblical FanFic based on St. Valentine, a priest with a bleeding heart (literally), or Cupid. Ok, granted, Cupid isn’t as biblical as, say, Mary and Joseph but wouldn’t it be funny to read a story of a rogue Cupid? Cupid Gone Wild, if you will. Just the thought of that chubby little baby angel wreaking havoc on all the singles in the downtown area gives me a case of the giggles!

images-2

Then again – I’d like to see Cupid all grown up….

images-3

I’m sorry, what? Did you say something????

Maybe it doesn’t have to be funny – maybe Cupid’s pissed off and breaks the Valentine’s Day Rules (I don’t know what those rules are, they’re up to you – the writer!)

I’ll leave you with this cool collage-type photo I found at http://failblog.cheezburger.com/dating/tag/valentines-day and ask you  –

How would you incorporate Valentine’s Day into a great Biblical FanFic story? Would it be funny, serious, tragic? What do you want to see?
h6B5FA702

HAPPY VALENTINE”S DAY!

(just so ya’ know, I actually enjoy Valentine’s Day – the hubs and I make a big deal out of it and celebrate with my two boys)

~Christine

This-is-a-Work-of-Fiction-1

About Christine Hughes

A few things about me in no particular order: 1. I love the NY Jets (I know, I know...) 2. I love where I live. An hour to NY, Philly and the Jersey shore. 3. I have two boys and they make me laugh hard enough to blow liquids out of my nose. The hubs is funny enough to make me pee my pants. Not that it's ever happened. Of course not. 4. Being a writer is the best job on the planet, and not just because I can wear jammies to work, drink coffee by the gallonful, randomly catch up on my DVR'd shows, troll YouTube, flip on E! News and browse iTunes - all in the name of research. 5. I have some of the best friends in the world - they put up with my inappropriate jokes, foul mouth, strange musings and don't judge me if I drink too much wine on a Tuesday. Just sayin' - a girl needs her friends. 6. Represented by the most fabulous Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I fell into it with her - she is perfectly amazeballs. LOVE!

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day everyone 🙂

  2. I was thinking that you hated the holiday by the way you wrote about it. I was about to say, Right on! Liking your cupid all grown up. It would be cool to read a FanFic story about St. Valentine, I’d like to see it from his perspective, militant with a sarcastic edge to it.

    • Haha! I don’t hate it – but my hubs and I celebrate with the kids. It’s not a romantic day for us. He and I celebrate all the mushy stuff all year long 🙂

      I like your idea of a militant Cupid – and I definitely love the sarcastic edge (if you couldn’t already tell….)

  3. Happy Valentine’s Day, Christine. I prefer your picture of Cupid all grown up as well 🙂 We’ll have a nice family dinner tonight, then my husband and I and another couple go out over the weekend.

  4. Happy VD! I do have a question though, can Saint Valentine’s fiction be Biblical FanFic if he’s nowhere near the Bible? Isn’t that Catholic FanFic?

    And who’d have thought, people enjoyed a festival where casual sex partners are determined by lottery more than a festival where saints to emulate are drawn by lottery. That’s a hard one to sell.

    • Hmmm….Good question. Not that Catholic FanFic and Biblical FanFic are intertwined by any means but considering today is St. Valentine’s Day, I figured I’d make a wee bit of an exception.

      • I just thought I’d be pedantic for a moment. You may wish for Cupid/Saint Valentine slash if you like. I won’t judge, unless it is horribly written. I have standards, but no taste. Or something.

        Give me ambiguity, or give me something else.

  5. We don’t make a huge deal. But the boys like to have super cool Vday Cards, like Spider-Man and give them out. You know, to their five-year-old girlfriends. 😉 Glad their are no urns in Kindergarten.

    Happy Vday!

  6. My daughter gave Justin Bieber cards to EVERYONE, complete with Bieber Fever temporary tattoos. LOL. 😀

Leave a Reply

