LIVE and Water

I’ve always wondered how much “spirituality” is purposefully written into lyrics of songs. When I was in college the band LIVE was popular. I devoured their album “Throwing Copper.” But I was always curious as to why they always seemed to sing about water. Was the water a baptismal metaphor? Were they cleansing themselves through their lyrics? Was I crazy for even thinking such things? Has my mind always, subliminally, been drawn to some sort of biblical reference? I am, by nature, a questioner. Not the kind who needs to question for the sake of disavowing the beliefs of others. Instead, I’ve always looked for the meaning in things. Which, by the way, lent itself nicely to my former life as an English teacher.

Back to LIVE, their song “All Over You” starts with :


“Our love is like water.Pinned down and abused for being strange.

Our love is no other than me alone, for me all day. Our love is like water, pinned down and abused…”

“I Alone” contains these lyrics:


It’s easier not to be wise
And measure these things by your brains
I sank into eden with you
Alone in the church by and by

I’ll read to you here, save your eyes
You’ll need them, your boat is at sea
Your anchor is up, you’ve been swept away
And the greatest of teachers won’t hesitate
To leave you there, by yourself,
Chained to fate

“Lightning Crashes” – (no water, per say, but lightning/rain/water…)


The angel opens her eyes
The confusion sets in
Before the doctor can even close the door

And lastly, “Pain Lies on the Riverside” :


Pain lies on the riverside
And pain will never say goodbye
Pain lies on the riverside
So put your feet in the water
Put your head in the water
Put your soul in the water
And join me for a swim tonight
I have forever, always tried
To stay clean and constantly baptized
I am aware that the river’s banks are dry
And to wait for a flood
Is to wait for life
I’ve got to learn to live until no end
But first I must learn to swim all
Over again

What are these guys talking about? These are merely a few examples of their lyrics – I am telling you, google LIVE song Lyrics and comb through, just a little bit and you’ll see what I mean. The question is, what do you think they are talking about? Are there not-so-hidden religious references or do you think it’s all coincidence? I’d love to hear your thoughts…

~Christine

This-is-a-Work-of-Fiction-1

About Christine Hughes

A few things about me in no particular order: 1. I love the NY Jets (I know, I know...) 2. I love where I live. An hour to NY, Philly and the Jersey shore. 3. I have two boys and they make me laugh hard enough to blow liquids out of my nose. The hubs is funny enough to make me pee my pants. Not that it's ever happened. Of course not. 4. Being a writer is the best job on the planet, and not just because I can wear jammies to work, drink coffee by the gallonful, randomly catch up on my DVR'd shows, troll YouTube, flip on E! News and browse iTunes - all in the name of research. 5. I have some of the best friends in the world - they put up with my inappropriate jokes, foul mouth, strange musings and don't judge me if I drink too much wine on a Tuesday. Just sayin' - a girl needs her friends. 6. Represented by the most fabulous Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I fell into it with her - she is perfectly amazeballs. LOVE!

Posted on January 24, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice piece Christine. I love Live. Lightening Crashes is my favorite song by them. I think they do have a spiritual, but not religious, element to some of their songs.

Leave a Reply

