Guardian

GuardianAngel1People have always had a fascination with angels especially guardians. Angels play a prominent role in books, movies, and even music. Angels are referenced 273 times in the bible. What are some of your biblical fanfic favorites featuring angels or a particular angelic verse? Do you believe that angel’s prominent theme in entertainment is by divine inspiration or fictional fantasy?  I came across this song by Alanis Morissette about guardians, but in this case it appears to be in acknowledgement of their absence. It could make you wonder, are angels always present, do you need to call upon them in a time of need or do they act only when they choose, or most importantly do you believe in the existence of angels? Why not listen while you ponder…

“Guardian”
Alanis Morissette

You, you who has smiled when you’re in pain
You who has soldiered through the profane
They were distracted and shut down

So why, why would you talk to me at all
Such words were dishonorable and in vain
Their promise as solid as a fog

And where was your watchman then

I’ll be your keeper for life as your guardian
I’ll be your warrior of care your first warden
I’ll be your angel on call, I’ll be on demand
The greatest honor of all, as your guardian

You, you in the chaos feigning sane
You who has pushed beyond what’s humane
Them as the ghostly tumbleweed

And where was your watchman then

I’ll be your keeper for life as your guardian
I’ll be your warrior of care your first warden
I’ll be your angel on call, I’ll be on demand
The greatest honor of all, as your guardian

Now no more smiling mid crestfall
No more managing unmanageables
No more holding still in the hailstorm

Now enter your watchwoman

I’ll be your keeper for life as your guardian
I’ll be your warrior of care your first warden
I’ll be your angel on call, I’ll be on demand
The greatest honor of all, as your guardian

alanis-morissette-angel-guardian-600x450

Posted on January 18, 2013, in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Good questions. The Bible speaks of angels as “ministering spirits sent to serve those who will inherit salvation” and of angels longing to look into the mystery of our salvation in Christ (and those are only the references that come to mind, aside from angelic appearances), so I believe they are real beings with real personalities, and therefore can be used strategically in books, movies, and music to demonstrate God’s concern for humanity.

    I don’t think we need to call upon angels or that they act only as they chose. Rather, we call upon God himself, and He dispatches them as He sees fit. (That’s what I think, anyway).

    What concerns me is that fine line between an interest in angels or using angels creatively and an elevation of angels above their and our Creator. (And I’m not accusing anyone of having crossed it!) I’ve struggled with this issue in writing a series of short stories with angels as prominent players. Knowing that anything I write of a spiritual nature could invoke a scrutiny of my theology, I want to stay faithful to what I believe, while still allowing myself creative liberties. Does that make any sense? (Paranormal is not a genre I’ve followed extensively, so forgive me if that’s an old, worn-out discussion).

    Finally, thanks for introducing me to a new Alanis Morissette tune! 🙂

    lisa

  2. Thank you so much for stopping by Lisa. I love the points that you bring up. The great thing about Biblical fanfic is it is indeed fiction, so artists, authors, and musicians have the flexibility to create new spins on old tales that may not necessarily be based of of one’s beliefs or faith. I think the concept that angelic figures may be replacing theological beliefs instead of reinforcing them is interesting. It definitely raises the questions of whether fictional stories using biblical elements is useful for reinforcing values and beliefs or if it can be harmful by creating a tangential belief system. It also begs the questions whether authors prioritize fiction over beliefs or beliefs over fiction?

  3. We need look no further than Narnia to know that fictional stories using biblical elements can reinforce beliefs, though that’s more allegorical than paranormal in nature. When it comes to angels, it seems to get a little trickier. Angels don’t seem to be a huge part of church or biblical teaching, so we have less to go on in terms of whether or not we’re crossing theological lines. If an author prioritizes fiction over faith, this might not be an issue, but if an author prioritizes faith over fiction or wishes to give due honor to both fiction and faith (which is where I fall), then there’s a struggle to create characters/plotlines that come alive on the (fictional) page, while not violating to what is revealed in the biblical account or overshadowing the heart of the Scriptures, but rather pointing to something greater than themselves – all in the context of a universally enjoyable story.

    As for tangential belief systems, my concern in that area comes from the reality that there are people who focus more on angels than on the Creator himself, and I know a few people who would likely pass off ANY writing about angels as idol worship, even if the writing pointed straight to the cross, or if the angels are symbolic of God’s presence, or if the story is simply meant to raise questions about whether what we see is all there is. That’s the point where I want to scream, “IT’S FICTION, PEOPLE!” and politely request they not take everything literally.

    Okay, as much as I am enjoying this discussion, my house isn’t getting cleaned! Have a great weekend!

  4. Ah, angels…

    Waiting’s views and comments about being careful of elevating angels above the Creator are valid, in my opinion. However, the same could be said of a myriad of topics; money and nature come to mind readily. I agree that fiction is fiction and a certain level of artistic license can be granted when writing about angels and their relation to man, creation; even God. Even still, I haven’t had the cojones to write Biblical fan-fic; I just read it –HUSH, HUSH for me equals fan-girl-gush-gush.

    Do I believe in angels? Yes, most definitely. Do I believe they do only as they please? No. I think they have free-will. The FALL is evidence of free will. Some angels chose to rebel- thus proving free will. I’m firm in the belief that those who didn’t fall choose (present-tense intended) to serve God in all he asks.

    I had an experience which, in my mind, can only be explained by the existence of guardian angels watching over me. Because a loving God, who charges them with my care, they watch over me. So, even though I believe they exist, and I am grateful they do, I praise the God of Heaven as the one who created them to care for me and those I love.

  1. Pingback: What’s in a Song? | JBodnarDrowley

Leave a Reply

