God and Lucifer

images

Are all fallen angels sinners? Why did so many fall? Have every single one of them fallen from heaven due to sins they committed? Or were they mere followers that latched onto the ideologies of the original sinner, Lucifer? Or were they something more ominous? Puppet masters perhaps? Did Lucifer get caught up in the whispered transgressions of those around him? Or was he merely guilty of questioning God? Isn’t it said that Lucifer was God’s first, perfect creation? And isn’t it said that it wasn’t until Lucifer, Satan –whatever you want to call him – was cast out once he began to question the sovereignty in which God ruled? Well, that all depends on which religious doctrine you read, which religious leader you speak to and which spiritual path you take.

What makes the story of Lucifer so much fun is that we, as writers – as people – are able to take the bits of information provided by the multitude of resources available to us and write the story for ourselves.

images-2I can change his name and imagine his purpose to be different, much different, than what I was taught at Sunday School. Maybe he was a vessel created to house despair. Maybe he filled himself up with the pain of others so they, the humans and angels alike, would not need to feel such suffering. Maybe someone will write him as the second half of a whole – the yin to God’s yang if you will. Because I truly believe – and if you read TORN, you know  what I am talking about – that there cannot be light without darkness. There cannot be hope without despair. And maybe that’s all the Devil really is – a weight to balance the scales of our world. It’s like a game of chess between heaven and hell.

images-1

I can change what he looks like. Horns, pointy tail, claw like fingers? Eeesh…I guess. Blonde hair, blue eyes? More like it. Black hair, dark soulful eyes? Even better. Scary? Maybe. Sexy? Oh yes. Bad boys do make for good fiction…. But I digress.

The point is, the Bible and other religious doctrines were written so long ago and written based on word of mouth, that we can now imagine what the world once was. Was the world filled with angels before humans? Did they love and marry and hate and kill? If you believe what you read, then yes. So why not spin the stories of the fallen to suit our own imaginations? It doesn’t make us blasphemous. It makes us writers.

~Christine

This-is-a-Work-of-Fiction-1

About Christine Hughes

A few things about me in no particular order: 1. I love the NY Jets (I know, I know...) 2. I love where I live. An hour to NY, Philly and the Jersey shore. 3. I have two boys and they make me laugh hard enough to blow liquids out of my nose. The hubs is funny enough to make me pee my pants. Not that it's ever happened. Of course not. 4. Being a writer is the best job on the planet, and not just because I can wear jammies to work, drink coffee by the gallonful, randomly catch up on my DVR'd shows, troll YouTube, flip on E! News and browse iTunes - all in the name of research. 5. I have some of the best friends in the world - they put up with my inappropriate jokes, foul mouth, strange musings and don't judge me if I drink too much wine on a Tuesday. Just sayin' - a girl needs her friends. 6. Represented by the most fabulous Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I fell into it with her - she is perfectly amazeballs. LOVE!

Posted on January 17, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. He was to my understanding, the Agel of Light. Beutiful to behold! So yes, i can picture him as a blond Adonis. A dark haired Angel with a cause.

  1. Pingback: God and Lucifer | Christine Hughes

Leave a Reply

