Supernatural Sundays – The Devil

Before I start talking about the Devil, I just wanted to say that Supernatural fans won the Favorite Fan Following award on Wednesday’s People’s Choice Awards – Yay us!

supernatural-Lucifer-mark-pellegrinoNow. About that Devil. What a phenomenal job they did on casting Mark Pellegrino. He did such a great job as Jacob on Lost, too. How interesting that he would play the God role in one show and the Devil in the other. They ran simultaneously, too. I have to wonder if it left him feeling a bit schizophrenic. He’s also been in numerous other roles throughout the years. Here’s his IMDb page if you’re curious.

With the entire fifth season pretty much being a loose interpretation of the Book of Revelations, once they broke the Devil out in the season finale of season four, (did anyone else start singing “Carry on my Wayward Son” when I said “finale”?), it is no surprise that the Devil played such a big role. But Supernatural’s Devil was portrayed a bit differently than you would have seen in the Bible. This one is a sympathetic guy who seems to be not much more than a misunderstood child whose only crime was loving his Father too much.

Of course, that child has dark power beyond measure and has a serious hate on for humans. But he has that wicked patent Supernatural sense of humor and later, when he becomes nothing but Sam’s hallucination, that really comes to the forefront. And I thought that was the most interesting use of the devil – having him literally be the devil whispering in Sam’s ear.

Crowley-laughing-supernaturalI am sure we haven’t seen the last of Mr. Pellegrino. I have always thought it would be interesting if he showed up and put Crowley in his place. I wonder how Crowley would react…

And you? Are you tired of the Devil in the show or would you like to see him show back up?

About Michelle L. Johnson

Agent with Inklings Literary Agency, Author, and occasional wannabe comedienne. Firm believer in all things caffeinated. Represented by Jamie Bodnar Drowley.

Posted on January 13, 2013, in Supernatural Sundays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I think Supernatural Sundays may be my favorite part of Sundays! πŸ˜‰ Is that wrong? I was SO. EXCITED when #SpnFamily won Favorite TV Fan Following. We can all say we’ve won a People’s Choice Award now, right? πŸ™‚ We also won Favorite SciFi TV Show, which was really awesome, considering the competition! Supernatural and its fans are the best. It’s so funny because when I read the words “season finale” Carry On My Wayward Son totally started playing through my mind & then I read the next line. heehee! πŸ˜€

    Anyway, I love love LOVE the way Supernatural portrayed the Devil. I’ve always thought he’d be a handsome man, not some scary dude with horns. He was a fallen angel, after all. He’s probably beautiful. And yes, Sam’s hallucinations were really when the Devil became the best character. He was so funny! The forked tongue bit was awesome. I’m not at all tired of the devil on the show. I’d like to see him make a return, but not with what’s going on currently (back on Wed night!!) but hopefully in the future. πŸ™‚

    • Oh I totally agree – the forked tongue almost caused a coffee-out-the-nose incident! And also that there is too much going on right now with the Sam and Amelia thing, and the Dean and Benny thing. I’ve seen some sneak peak preview pics that suggest… oh never mind… don’t want to spoil anything. *devilish laughter*

      • Oh reeeeaaallllllyyyyy??? I used to look at spoiler pics but I haven’t in a long time. Methinks I should check them out to see what you’re talking about! πŸ˜€ I hope the spoiler is that Amelia is going bye-bye.

  2. PS – the dog can stay πŸ˜‰

    • Hahaha! The dog is awesome. I have been annoyed with the flashbacks, too. I hope they are coming to an end!

      • It wouldn’t be so bad if she was likable. I don’t know if it’s the actress, lack of onscreen chemistry or what, but I can’t imagine why he would want to be in a relationship with her. Maybe it’s just the dog. πŸ˜‰ I hear collective groans across the country when the flashbacks start. This season has been the best yet — except for that plot line. 😐

      • I think I have to agree. No chemistry. It was a completely different story when Ruby was on the scene. Of course, Sam married Ruby in real life, so obviously the chemistry was there πŸ˜‰

  3. Oh yes definitely!! I still wish Sarah from Provenance in season 1 would come back. So much has happened since then but she had great chemistry with Sam and looked like a real woman. You know what I mean? Of course if she came back, she would probably be killed off since the boys can’t be happy for too long.

  4. I just saw that I never replied to this comment, Michelle. My bad. Yes, Sarah was the one with the haunted picture of “that creepy ass family.” Considering what happened to Lisa and everyone else the guys fall in love with, perhaps it’s best if he never saw her again. At least we can re-watch the episodes. πŸ˜€

  5. πŸ˜€ I actually don’t have Netflix (I’m so weird, I know) but I do have seasons 1-6 on DVD πŸ˜€ I need 7 ASAP!

Leave a Reply

