This is a Work of Fiction…

images-1

Apparently I am going to Catholic jail. Or purgatory. Or hell. Or wherever good Catholic -school girls who take it upon themselves to question, even re-write (the horror!) the biblical stories thrust upon them by well-intentioned, ruler wielding nuns, go. Of course it wasn’t really my intention to cause such controversy. Well, maybe subliminally. Torn was just a book I wrote and published that happened to be about fallen angels. And I wasn’t even writing it to include angels – that just kind of happened. Of course we’re all taught fallen angels are terrible creatures who questioned God. Well, what if some of them want to regain favor with the God who cast them out? What if Lucifer, Satan, Damien, Beelzebub – whatever you feel more comfortable calling him – wasn’t really the behind the fall? What if he was just the fall guy? What if he was, indeed, created for the sole purpose of housing the pain and suffering of others, thereby leaving him to live a life full of pain and sadness? And what if, he finally had had enough? In the sequel to TORN, Darkness Betrayed, that’s just what happens. But I’m the bad guy for questioning the original story. Right. Let me let you in on a little secret: It’s fiction. I don’t claim to be an authority on all things biblical. I. Write. Fiction. And people like fiction. People love fiction! I love fiction – nothing is better than falling into a world someone made up.

This-is-a-Work-of-Fiction-1

But, back to the issue at hand – building a fictitious world around the stories in the Bible. I just don’t understand why some people don’t think it’s okay to question beliefs. And not just beliefs – because I for one am certainly not questioning anyone’s beliefs. And I am sure none of the ladies involved in this blog are questioning the beliefs of others. We just rework the stories and characters found within the pages of the oldest known storybook. And who’s really to say I, or other authors, are actually blasphemous wretches? Maybe we, like Matthew, Mark, Luke and John, enjoy a new spin on a story older than dirt. Because the bible stories are older than dirt, you know. They all begin with Genesis – when God created earth. And if, indeed, Jesus or God or whomever is all-forgiving then why can’t we have our turn? I say grab the proverbial, or literal, pen and paper and question for God’s sake! Of course, re-imagining a Bible story might get you in some deep trouble with your local religious humans. Don’t let that scare you. What are they gonna do? Ban you? Well, congrats. If you’re banned because of something you wrote, then you wrote it well enough to strike some emotional chord and for that I say “Bravo!” Write some more. Think it’ll piss off your local pastor that you decided Satan isn’t the devil we’ve been warned about? Even more reason to write it.

There is a place for it. And it’s called Biblical Fanfic. And I am so happy to be a part of it.

~Christine

images

About Christine Hughes

A few things about me in no particular order: 1. I love the NY Jets (I know, I know...) 2. I love where I live. An hour to NY, Philly and the Jersey shore. 3. I have two boys and they make me laugh hard enough to blow liquids out of my nose. The hubs is funny enough to make me pee my pants. Not that it's ever happened. Of course not. 4. Being a writer is the best job on the planet, and not just because I can wear jammies to work, drink coffee by the gallonful, randomly catch up on my DVR'd shows, troll YouTube, flip on E! News and browse iTunes - all in the name of research. 5. I have some of the best friends in the world - they put up with my inappropriate jokes, foul mouth, strange musings and don't judge me if I drink too much wine on a Tuesday. Just sayin' - a girl needs her friends. 6. Represented by the most fabulous Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency. I fell into it with her - she is perfectly amazeballs. LOVE!

Posted on January 3, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Wow, I am a believer, was raised to be one and decided I want to believe once I grew up to not wear day-of-the week-panties. I was banned from Church at the ripe old age of 8! Why, cause I told the preacher that if he read the bible the way it is written, filled with magic and mystique then maybe more will believe in a God made up of magic and power. Cause according to me, the Bible is magic. The pastor disagreed. Good thing my parents were who they were….. I agree. If people’s faith is soooo thin that a kindle button to next page is enough to make them jumpy then maybe they should give up on reading. I loved your book. And I for one cant wait to read the sequel. I guess Ill see you on the other side~

    • Thanks Wanda! I wasn’t banned…I just question things. And it’s fun to make up stories based on other stories. None of us were there, right? It’s a long played game of telephone, like most stories. Take the religion out of the Bible and it’s really full of very interesting stories.

      • And magic, it is filled with magic. The real kind…. but no, see the dreary passages of son of…. son of…… son of……. argh

  2. Very interesting post on angels and religion. Thought provoking. I love angels fallen or still up in the heavens helping me plod on.
    Bev Irwin / Kendra James

  3. I belong to the ever growing religion of former Catholics. My questioning started in first grade, in Catholic school when the Nuns bobby clipped a Kleenex to my head if i forgot my beanie to wear in church. As if God cared about a piece of nose blowing paper. I learned quickly that the pretty, biddable girls were chosen for recognition first.
    Jump forward to when I was in about fourth grade, at bible study camp (yeah, I hear the snickering in the background!!) The camp counselor read to us from the Bible, that Heaven was paved with gold, and decorated with valuable gems. And I had to ask “Why? Aren’t we supposed to be past earthly goods once we get to Heaven?”
    I was a smart mouthed kid!
    The only way I would ever listen to requests not to base books on the Bible would be if we asked the same respect for holy teachings of ANY religion. Doubt seriously that would happen

  4. Not a subject that have ever consider, but highly relevant especially if you are a writer of any particular faith stemmed from bible teachings. Thanks for the article.

  5. Ah, Christine, now I get it. For me, your explanation of Torn, and the idea of a being who is created to reflect all the pain and suffering in the world, makes sense. The Rabbinic concept of angels (we don’t have a Biblical concept of Satan, but we do have the concept of an accusing angel, created for the purpose of prosecuting; e.g. Ezekiel 2) is that they are pure beings without wills of their own. Think the early Matt Damon-Ben Affleck movie Dogma. So why wouldn’t a being be created to bear pain?

Leave a Reply

