Supernatural Sundays – Contest Winner!

eggnog cheersWe had some phenomenal contributions to the contest last week, and a lot of fun reading all the entries. It wasn’t easy to come up with a winner either! But after hours of deliberation, here is the winner:

Yuletide Demon

“Get inside the circle, Sam!” Dean fumbled for his amulet. “It’s coming for you!”

“What circle, Dean?” Sam spun on his heel. No circle anywhere. But there was something… cold. “What the hell?”

“Do I have to do everything?” Dean snatched the shriveled wreath off the chimney and threw it down. “Inside! Now!”

As Sam leaped into the wreath, Dean swore. An oily cloud thick as fudge oozed from the flue. It reared.

“Merry Christmas, you son of a—” Dean lifted the amulet. Screeching, the thing liquefied.

Dean knelt, dipped a finger in the creamy goo and sniffed. “Eggnog.”

~Paula Huffman

Winner!Congratulations, Paula! And thank you to everyone who participated! I hope everyone had a great holiday, and has a wonderful New Year! I’ll return with regular Supernatural Sunday posts next weekend once I’m back from all my travels!

About Michelle L. Johnson

Agent with Inklings Literary Agency, Author, and occasional wannabe comedienne. Firm believer in all things caffeinated. Represented by Jamie Bodnar Drowley.

Posted on December 30, 2012, in Supernatural Sundays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Yay Paula. Great job.

  2. Congrats, Paula! I love your entry.

  3. I thought this was great. You really captured the voices well!

  4. Oh, wow! Thank you guys so much!!! The girl jumping up and down above looks just like I did when I saw this!! Except… she’s young and pretty… but other than that… yeah!

    All of these entries were awesome, and I am humbled and honored to be chosen. Thank you so much for sponsoring this contest, Michelle, Nola and Jamie. It was great fun and an excellent writing exercise. I learned a lot about carving down words, tightening phrases and how much you can say with very little.

    Interesting tidbit… when I finished about the fifth round of trimming my original scene, I came out at 99 words, which meant I could put one of them back. It took me a while to decide, but I chose “creamy.” That, in itself, was an interesting process and lesson.

    Anyway, thank you all! I hope we get to play again some time!

    Paula H

Leave a Reply

