Guest Post by Daniele Lanzarotta

SinsofFallenCoverThis week we are joined by author Daniele Lanzarotta, who shares with us her feelings about writing Biblical Fanfic – something she didn’t really consider that she was doing from the looks of her post. Daniele just released the third in her Academy of the Fallen series, “Sins of the Fallen.”

 

 

 

 

In Between the Lines by Daniele Lanzarotta

When I was first asked to write this post, I asked Michelle if she had any topics in mind. After she suggested a Biblical theme in relation to Sins of the Fallen and told me about the blog genre where it would be posted, my first thought was… Well, honestly I didn’t know what to think. *Laughs* I’ve always focused so much on the paranormal and fantasy aspects of the Academy of the Fallen that I never really stopped to think about it as Christian Fiction that much.  

The Academy is a world that was inspired by a character from my first paranormal series, Imprinted Souls.  Anne is a vampire/fallen angel hybrid who made me more and more curious about fallen angels. That curiosity led to the creation of the Academy of the Fallen world.  The concept of the Academy is that so many angels fell over the years, that in order to protect humanity, there was no other option but to give fallen angels a second chance.  The Academy is a place where they earn this second chance by protecting humans who are haunted by ghosts and demons.  

Anyway, besides the variety of paranormal beings within the series (angels, fallen angels, ghosts, demons, immortals, and nephilim), the reason behind my focus on the fantasy/paranormal, was probably because my research of ‘biblical facts’ used was very limited to character names (like Ember, the fallen angel of lust), the creation of Nephilim, and Lilith’s story.  In fact, there were several moments when I avoided using those facts all together.  Although I knew that I was writing fiction, there were a few interesting facts about my writing… I was incredibly superstitious about using certain ‘facts’ when it came to the bad guys.  While writing a chapter from Benjamin’s POV (Benjamin is a demon), the word count for that chapter was 666.  You have no idea how fast I changed that chapter.  Also, when it came to naming the bad guys, I made to sure to try and avoid all names found while researching.  The last thing I need is to be haunted like one of the humans at the Academy.

You can find Daniele here:
Website: www.danielelanzarotta.com
Twitter @DaniLanzarotta
Facebook: www.facebook.com/academyofthefallen and facebook.com/authordanielelanzarotta
Daniele Lanzarotta is the author of YA paranormal novels, including the Imprinted Souls Series and Academy of the Fallen. She has a bachelor’s in business and finance and a MBA. With only a few semesters left in school, Daniele started writing as a hobby, but it didn’t take long for her to be consumed by her stories. That is her passion, and she now has several projects under way. She enjoys reading and writing young adult novels with just about any sort of paranormal or supernatural bent…vampires… ghosts… She also enjoys watching hockey, playing rock band, guitar hero and spending time with the family.

About Michelle L. Johnson

Agent with Inklings Literary Agency, Author, and occasional wannabe comedienne. Firm believer in all things caffeinated. Represented by Jamie Bodnar Drowley.

Posted on December 17, 2012, in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Fascinating, Daniele. Like you, I never thought of the paranormal novels I love to be “Christian fiction,” and in many ways I still don’t. They are, first and foremost, fiction. Yet many of them are drawn from Biblical themes.

    There’s something hauntingly universal about these themes, too. Angels, demons and vampires… as well as most other paranormal creatures… can be found in mythology throughout almost all of the world’s cultures. How could that be, in the days before television, radio and the internet? Interesting, to say the least!

    It does make you wonder… enough that I’m sure I would panic, too, at a word count of 666. (Love that story, by the way!) Now, heading over to Amazon and buy the Academy of the Fallen series. Merry Christmas to me!

    ~ Paula Huffman

  2. Great post Daniele. Thank you for stopping by NSOB blog. I had to laugh at the 666 word count for the demon’s chapter. EEK! I look forward to reading your series. 🙂 Best wishes and thank you again!

  3. Thanks everyone. 🙂 Yeah, I’ll never forget that moment when I looked at the word count and it said 666. LOL I hope you enjoy the series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

