Legacy

Yes, I named my introductory post after my novel – because without Legacy there would be no New Stories, Old Book – not for me anyway.

I’m going to avoid writing yet another profile. There will be links at the end of the post to find more of my profiles than you bargained for. I’d rather talk about where the idea for Legacy came from, and my relentless fan-girl state for all things Biblical FanFic, (or Christian Mythology as some call it).

From Highway to Heaven, to City of Angels, to Supernatural, I have been a die hard fan of all things angel. I don’t think I ever realized that my fascination didn’t really end there.ย  I found parallels in many of my favorite movies. Terminator, for example, resounded with the story of Jesus Christ, as show in this article by Peter T. Chattaway. Many horror stories follow Revelations, and the whole good versus evil theme.

My first attempt at a horror novel (co-written with my then-husband), was tentatively titled “Lake of Fire” and was a story of the second coming – Jesus in the body of a car thief and Satan in the body of a playboy millionaire. I had to stop writing when I wrote a villain scene that scared me too much to go near the book again.

Many years passed. Life got in the way of writing as it tends to do. When I finally got back to it, an opening line came to me one day that I just couldn’t pass up: “My mother is a raving lunatic and my father is the Archangel Gabriel, please pass the potatoes.” I built a scene around those words, then characters within the scene, then went from there. Several drafts, edits, and revisions later (and largely thanks to my fiction group Writers Unleashed) I had the final MS in my hands, and a good idea of what my version of heaven looked like:ย 

Within the manuscript lie some connections to the Bible – Archangels, Adam and Eve. There will be more in the sequels including a unique twist on Cain and Abel, and a spectacular visit from one of the more recent popular villains, but you’ll have to wait and see.

In the mean time, we’ve all gathered here to share our love of biblical fanfic, and talk about all the books and shows that have done it so masterfully in the past.ย  Don’t forget to subscribe to the blog so you can join in, too!

Comments? Suggestions? We’d love to hear from you.

Oh yes – here are the links I warned you about at the beginning:

Website

Facebook

Author Fanpage

Agent Fanpage

Twitter

Linked In

Other Blog

Agency Website

About Michelle L. Johnson

Agent with Inklings Literary Agency, Author, and occasional wannabe comedienne. Firm believer in all things caffeinated. Represented by Jamie Bodnar Drowley.

Posted on December 1, 2012, in Introductions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I want to read the scene that scared you so much you quit writing it. Those are usually the best ones.

    • The scene was the reveal of the ‘big bad guy’ who up until that point had been a relatively benign guy who was a bit of a jerk. He sat cross-legged in his basement inside a demonic symbol (candles, etc.), as his best friend rang the doorbell. He looked up and smiled, his eyes glowing a faint red hue and the best friend was killed.
      My skin crawled like crazy when I wrote that scene, but I nearly threw it across the room at the end of the scene. I’d describe it more but I don’t want the nightmares… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. We share this fascination and I’m very excited to read this blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ I would love to read Legacy & I also want to read the scene that scared you so badly. I have a similar experience with the series of books I’ve been writing since I was 15. Actually, the scene I wrote that scared me so much was a couple of years ago and involved a few of my main characters in hell. So yes, that series carries similar biblical themes but I don’t know if I will ever publish it. I haven’t taken those characters to heaven yet but that would be fun to write. Very interested to see what your idea of heaven is. I LOVED how they portrayed heaven on Supernatural! Can’t wait to read more in this blog series! Excited!!(how many times did I say excited?)

  3. An Angel Mafia! How cool!

    I have a Biblical FanFic, too, about a boy who is a “Sacrament,” a human born with the destiny of dying to save someone who is vital to the plans of Heaven, and the girl he’s supposed to save. It’s based on an experience I had as a young woman, which makes it both important to write, and difficult to write. Scary in a different way!

    Can’t wait to read Legacy, and to hear more about your writing through the blog!

    ~ Paula Huffman

    • That sounds intriguing. Is that one finished, Paula?

      • I wish! That’s the one you saw in the “Slush Fest” at South Carolina Writers’ Workshop (Surrender). It’s outlined and partially written, and I plan to start on it again when I complete the revisions on Red Tide.

        It’s taken me a while to get this one “right.” I think that’s because it’s important to me in a personal way, and at first I was afraid to put some of the more spiritual aspects of it out there. Then I realized… it’s okay to have characters who believe in something strongly enough to die for it or to die for each other, and it’s even better if they can find a way to fulfill their destiny without doing either. But it’s still been tricky. I don’t want to make any mistakes with the mythology.

        Thanks for asking!

        ~ Paula

      • Ah yes! I loved the opening for that. I really want to see Red Tide finished too though. I am sure it will be worth the wait. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s an awesome use of the word Sacrament – as a personification. I like it. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. I hope it will be! So far it’s going well. Speaking of which, I’d better get to work.

    This has been a lost weekend for writing. Our high school football team played for the state championship last night in Raleigh, and we went down for the game. My husband taught about half the team and my son has friends who played, so we wanted to be there… but I didn’t get any writing done. We won the championship. First team in our county to ever bring home the title!

    Go, Vikings! Wooo-hoooo! Now… back to work! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Looking forward to reading Legacy!

    ~ Paula

  1. Pingback: New Year and High Hopes! « New Stories, Old Book.

Leave a Reply

